top of page

Ghost Trains and Carousels

So I have not been very active on many of my social accounts and this blog and this is because I have been preparing and then actually moving to my university accommodation down in Plymouth of which all went well and I am finally adjusted. I have finally found free time after a long week of orientation which was so much fun and I met many lovely people. However the weekend before orientation week started my father decided to come up and check on me and I decided to plan a nice day out for us to enjoy. I was looking for things to do that wouldn't be packed as it was a weekend so I took to the internet and found an array of unique and interesting things to do. However with Halloween nearing and my excitement growing mixed a little with my love for the film the greatest showman, My final decision was to go an hour north of Plymouth to a place called Dingles fairground heritage centre, and thanks to Groupon I got a great deal. It was a fair drive to get there but the drive was very scenic and calming. I will note that there are some small country style lanes in order to get to the location. When arriving there was a small carpark that was a 5 minute walk away from the location itself which was really handy. Now you will need to pay for something called tokens of which most rides are 2-3 tokens per ride per person. There are a fair few rides but it depends on how many you feel you want to go to. I personally only went on three rides but there are plenty to chose from, You may also want some money for the 2p coin machines. The first thing you will find is the 2p machines where you can literally spend soo much time! Me and my dad spent so much time here because they are so much better than current machines, you actually earn back nearly every time you put a coin in which means that you can keep playing for ages and there are such a variety of different ones that suit anyone and there is a money machine so you can get change if you don't have any with cups available to store them in. After this if you continue to the left is a large array of old fairground classics with old rides (you cant ride these one apart from a few that are there for younger kids) and there are even the old gypsy style carriages. Once you are finished with this bit if you head back to the 2p machines if you continue outside you ca head to another building and this is where the real fun starts! In here there are the big rides in which you are free to ride as long as you pay with tokens, it is 50p for a token so the rides vary from £1- £1.50 which is pretty reasonable compared to todays fairground rates, plus the money goes to maintaining the rides and the museum. In the photos it shows most of the rides, there are dodgems, carousels, ghost trains, saucer smash and some faster rides for the braver people. I honestly had such an amazing time and enjoyed all the rides I went on, I loved the fact that they put a sign with the history of that exact ride including where it came from, this making it an interactive museum. Lastly there is a café there where you can enjoy a variety of yummy food and drink choices, there are even snacks and things to eat if you have allergies or food intolerance like me. I would definitely recommend it and I will definitely be heading back at one point to enjoy the rides again but this time with some friends. Also check the website as they have events on during Halloween and Christmas! I hope you enjoyed this blog post as much as I enjoyed writing it :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page