top of page

Breathe.....


Sorry for the lack of social activity, I have been going through a lot of things and have felt rather under the weather mentally and did not want to do much other than what was needed which was focusing on my college work. However during these times I found a beautiful thing which is the mindfulness magazines which have really helped get a new perspective on things. The one I love the most and will be talking about in this blog post is breathe. They do a general one and they have recently released a teen one of which I have also bought.

They help me feel relaxed, some days I just want to shut my self away and hide and it is a negative cycle, However now when ever I feel like this I like to get a hot chocolate (the only warm drink I am allowed!) and turn on some fairy lights and grab one if their magazines from my collection and just breathe. holding it in my hands alone makes me feel calm. The illustrations and colors used in it are so soothing and elegant. Unlike other magazines it does not focus on other women it makes it personal. A very small but good thing about the magazine that is unlike most women magazines is that there is no endless labyrinth of advertisements. These just make me want to put most magazines down as it clutters the content and also they showcase these stunning people who, when you are having a bad day can easily make you feel small in comparison of which they shouldn't as we shouldn't compare ourselves to others (I know, easier said than done). It uses its ads to focus more on reviewing and recommending really good products and you can tell that they carefully select the ones that they put in, they use them to benefit the reader instead of just trying to earn money. The lessons and the articles in the magazine are very beneficial and make me feel like there is something new and positive to focus on each time I read them, They definitely give me the boost I need. As sometimes you don't want to talk about what is bringing you down, sometimes we may not even know what it is however this gives me something to work towards or something to think about. As its hard to describe a magazine as each one is different, I want to share some of my favourite things I have learnt from them and the articles that I find beautifully inspiring.

That loving yourself is not selfish.... .......it's essential! you should care for yourself like you care for others as you are just as important. You try to do everything to the best for others but then do the bare minimum for yourself. When you cook for a friend you think carefully about what they would like and what ingredients to use as well as the presentation. Do you have the same process when you cook for just yourself? if not why? it is important to treat yourself well so you can be the best you that is possible. Also keep your focus inward as there will always be people who have more and that you and wish you were but that wont help. Focus on you are use it as a drive. That loneliness is damaging to your health. It can have a major affect on your quality of life. All though some people say that social networks isolate us, it can actually help when you feel lonely. When you get a message it shows that someone is thinking about you. However do not use it to replace real life meetups and conversations with people. There are many campaigns that are fighting to spread awareness of the negative affect loneliness has. This includes the Jo Cox Commission on Loneliness. Also this is where I will urge you, my readers to help. As there are many people who are 75+ who may not have human contact for months at a time, of which is such sad news. There is a campaign running to help reduce this. It is ran by age UK and its the befriending programme which is where you are partnered with someone in your community and you either visit them or phone them for 30-60 minutes a week. I love this as both you and them get a friend and can learn so much. I myself am applying for this!

My last lesson is a simple and short one, It is the camera view. This is because mindfulness is about paying attention to things without judgement, we evaluate things to keep us safe however these evaluations can do more harm than good as it leads to over thinking (which I am seriously guilty of). A camera views things as they are with nothing added, this is a good way to think. An example is: the sun is out and its really hot and don't like this heat. Instead just simply say the sun is out today and its hot. This will allow you have less negative associations with the day and allows you to keep your mind clear and positive. I'm gonna end this blog here as I feel like I could write pages on these magazines. I truly do recommend them as they really help and they are definitely worth a read. (this is not sponsored!) I am gonna look at another magazine which is called Flow..... Goodbye for now......


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page