top of page

Pumpkin Pasties......

Lately the weather has calmed down and is now much cooler with the occasional rain showers, creating the cutest autumn feel. After the long days of heatwaves and never ending sunshine I was joyful to see the grey clouds and in response I put the kettle on, got into my soft pj's and turned on my twinkly fairy lights ( the perfect cosy set up!) However there is one thing I love to do on cosy days that isn't binge watching Harry Potter or reading and that is baking!. I was instantly inspired by a Pinterest search of Harry Potter recipes and soon landed on pumpkin pasties and thought I would make a simple quick recipe for it and as I was indecisive I made a sweet and savoury option. I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do, they are a great snack to enjoy watching a really good movie!

Sweet Recipe: (makes 5) Half a sheet of ready made pastry ( I used gluten free puff pastry as I don't like short crust) Half a tin of canned pumpkin puree 1 level Tsp of cinnamon 1/4 Tsp Nutmeg 1/4 Tsp All Spice 1/2 Tsp Sugar (I used cinnamon sugar) 1 1/2 Tsp butter egg to coat the pasty 1) Line a baking tray with baking parchment and preheat the oven 2) Roll out the pastry sheet and half it 3) Using a small cookie cutter or dish, cut out circular shapes 4) In a small bowl mix the rest of the ingredients together 5) put a small amount of the pumpkin mixture in the centre of each pastry circle and fold in half using egg wash to seal the pasty and using a fork crimp and puncture the pasty 6) Lastly wash the pasty with some egg and place on a baking tray and put in the oven until golden brown.

Savoury Recipe: (makes 5) Half a sheet of ready made pastry ( I used gluten free puff pastry as I don't like short crust) Half a tin of canned pumpkin puree 1 small handful of grated cheddar cheese 1/4 Sage 1/4 Chives salt and pepper to taste egg to coat the pasty

1) Line a baking tray with baking parchment and preheat the oven 2) Roll out the pastry sheet and half it 3) Using a small cookie cutter or dish, cut out circular shapes 4) In a small bowl mix the rest of the ingredients together 5) put a small amount of the pumpkin mixture in the centre of each pastry circle and fold in half using egg wash to seal the pasty and using a fork crimp and puncture the pasty 6) Lastly wash the pasty with some egg and place on a baking tray and put in the oven until golden brown.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page